Wellington Open 2019

WFO 2019 team registrations are now open!

REGISTER HERE: https://forms.gle/7waMH9erHoxthjFx6

The form is to be filled out by any team registering for the Wellington Floorball Open 2019.
Please fill out a new form for each team. All registrations are due by September 5th.

Please read through the WFO Competition Regulations before registering a team. 

Wellington Open 2018

Friday 28 – Sunday 30 September ASB Sports Centre, Kilbirnie, Wellington.

The Wellington Open 2018 saw teams travel from Wanaka/Queenstown, Christchurch, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt, Palmerston North, Hamilton, Auckland and Pakenham (Australia). 

Congratulations to the teams who took out the final in their grade.


  First Place Second Place Third Place
U13 Wellington Yellow           Wellington White             Auckland Floorball Academy
U15 Wellington Black Wellington Yellow Auckland Floorball Academy
Open   Southern Lakers Fog City Floorball Upper Hutt Misfits
Elite Dogs of War  Wellington Yellow Christchurch Quake


Most Valuable Player

U13 Ben Drury Wellington Yellow
U15 Bianca Day Auckland Floorball Academy
Open    Mitchell Lowe and Filip Wurzel    Massey Rampage and Fog City Floorball
Elite Matthew Bertschinger Elderbots


All Star Teams

Forward Ben Drury Wellington Yellow
Forward Lucy Downes Wellington Green
Forward Frankie Coup Wellington Yellow
Defender    Ryan Tunnicliffe Wellington Yellow
Defender Kyle Van Onselen         Auckland Floorball Academy
Goalie Flynn Gowans Wellington White


Forward Bianca Day Auckland Floorball Academy
Forward Olivia Knackstedt Wellington Yellow
Forward Hannah Bertschinger    Wellington Yellow
Defender    Zane Snaith Upper Hutt Misfits
Defender Sophie Lee-Wutzler Wellington Black
Goalie Eli Martin Wellington Black


Forward Mitchell Lowe               Massey Rampage
Forward Lachlan Collett    Upper Hutt Misfits
Forward Martin Vaclavu Southern Lakers
Defender    Michal Kubat Southern Lakers
Defender Emma Fell Wellington Orange
Goalie Umesh Ravji Massey Rampage


Forward Ryan Alexandrakis        Dogs of War
Forward Matthew Bertschinger   Elderbots
Forward Rohan Skilton Wellington Yellow
Defender    Gavin Staindl Dogs of War
Defender Daniel Jones Wellington White
Goalie Oliver Scott Elderbots


Forward Emma Fell      Wellington Orange
Forward Sohvi Makinen   Southern Lakers
Forward Ngaio Garcia Fog City Floorball
Defender    Annie Blomgren           Wellington Yellow
Defender Anita Jones Wellington White
Goalie Maria Hegarty Wellington Yellow


Wellington Open 2017

Results and statistics


Wellington Open 2016

We would like to thank all the teams, organisers and supporters for making Wellington Floorball Open 2016 such a great event. We would also like to thank ASB Sports Centre for providing the perfect venue, and great staff to help make this possible.
We saw lots of exciting games, with teams in the U13, U15 and Open grades.

WFO 2016 Results

Wellington Open 2015

The tournament was held between Friday, 25th to Sunday, 27th of September at the ASB Sports Centre in Kilbirnie.

The winner of Wellington Open 2015 and the defending NZ Floorball Champions are from Christchurch FC who defeated Wellington Storm in a fast and furious final.

Look forward to see you all back next year.

Wellington Open 2014

The tournament was held between Friday, 26th to Sunday, 28th of September at the ASB Sports Centre in Kilbirnie.

The winner of Wellington Open 2014 and the new NZ Floorball Champions are from Christchurch FC who defeated Pakenham Squishees in a very good final. Pakenham with only one substitution made a great effort to challenge Christchurch for the title but couldn't keep up with the fast and sharpshooting Christchurch team.

Wellington Open 2013

The 6th edition in 2013 was bigger again and saw teams from Republic Polytechnic (Singapore), Pakenham Squishees (Australia), Canberra (Australia), Auckland Stars (Auckland), Palmerston North, Wellington Storm Yellow (Wellington), Wellington Storm White (Wellington), Stormettes (Wellington), Disco Dragon (Wellington) and St. Pats (Wellington) compete for the title.

The overall winner of the Wellington Open 2013 and the new reigning champions are from Singapore who defeated Pakenham Squishees in the Final.
The 2013 New Zealand Champions are from Wellington Storm who defeated Auckalnd Stars in the semi finals.

Wellington Open 2012

The tournamet in 2012 was bigger again and teams from Canberra, Pakenham, Glebe, Auckland Stars, Palmerston North, Wellington City Council, Wellington Storm (3 teams) were competing for the title. In the College Grade teams from Wellington High School, Wellington College, Wellington East College, Scots College, St Catherines College, Rongotai College and St Patricks College were participating.

The overall winner of the Wellington Open 2012 and the new reigning champions are from Canberra who defeated Auckland Stars in the Final.
The 2012 New Zealand Champions are from Auckland Stars who defeated Wellington Storm in the semi finals.
And the first New Zealand College Champions are from Scots College who defeated Wellington East College in the final.

Wellington Open 2011

The 4th Wellington Open took place on Saturday 15. and Sunday 16. of October in the new ASB Sports Centre in Kilbirnie, Wellington.  Seven teams were competing for the Tournament trophy, including teams from Auckland and Palmerston North. The teams were split into two groups for the round robin. The top two teams from each group made it through into the finals round, where the played the other two top teams from the other round robin group to determine the teams for the major and the minor finals. Wellington Storm yellow won the Major Final against Hangover Heroes 7:4 after scores were locked 4:4 after the first two periods. Wellington Storm white won the Minor Final 8:4 against the Auckland Stars and claimed third place. Wellington Storm managed to defend their title and is already looking forward to the next edition of the Wellington Open in 2012.

The winning team from Wellington Storm yellow with the Wellington Open Shield.